• Tue. Jun 25th, 2024

PSL 9, Match 7: Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars by five wickets

Feb 21, 2024

MULTAN – Multan Sultans on Wednesday achieved five-wicket win over Lahore Qalandars in seventh game of the Pakistan Super League season nine (PSL 9) at Multan stadium.

Sultans achieved the target of 167 runs in 19 overs, thanks to Mohammad Rizwan for his skillful batting and Iftikhar Ahmed for his timely boundaries.

Rizwan’s side suffered early blows when Dawid Malan, Reeza Hendricks and Yasir Khan were dismissed in quick sessions. However, Rizwan playing captain’s innings as he made 82 off 59. David Willey scored 25 while Iftikhar presented fireworks with back-to-back boundaries as he made 34 for 11, helping his side win the game.

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars opted to bat first against Sultans and posted a fighting target of 167 runs. Fakhar Zaman and Rassie van der Dussen remained top scorers from Qalanadrs as they scored 41 and 54, respectively.

As the PSL unfolds, Multan Sultans are still formidable force, while Lahore suffered defeat in past two matches.

A day earlier, Multan Sultans beat Islamabad United by five wickets in the fifth match of the PSL.

PSL 2024 Squads:

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c/wk), Dawid Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Khushdil Shah, Iftikhar Ahmed, Yasir Khan, David Willey, Usama Mir, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Ali, Shahnawaz Dahani

Lahore Qalandars: Sahibzada Farhan, Fakhar Zaman, Rassir van der Dussen, Abdullah Shafique, Sikandar Raza, Lorcan Tucker (wk), David Wiese, Shaheen Afridi (c), Jahandad Khan, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan